Skip to content

Dubai!

April 9, 2011

Okey, so being outside for more than ten consecutive minutes is not really to be advised. At least not for such a pale Norwegian such as myself. But still: You don’t have to be outside to think this place is magnificent, rather the opposite! As opposed to Aix-les-Bains, they really appreciate the value of cool indoor oases. (read: they have air conditioning!) And while the Internet price is steep, it’s brilliant for cutting down on useless surfing, and writing blog posts offline instead! For the first time, (or maybe second, if I’m generous to the Faroese definition) I’m staying in a suite. Basically it’s two normal rooms with a shared entrance, but let’s not dwell on details. My room mate (aka suite mate) didn’t arrive yet, and when asking the reception about who I’m sharing with, they honestly answered “We don’t know.” Here’s hoping for luck in the suite mate lottery!

Packed4Dubai

I swear to Gosh, this is not an orchestrated photo! I brought a single (additional) suitcase for success in Dubai: Straw hat, white shorts and a water bottle! It might get filled by some shopping on my way home though.

Sign

Cultural differences combined with American(?) opening hours.

CityCentre

My favorite place in Dubai! The Deira Shopping Mall is a five minute walk away from my hotel, and offers – well – everything! Not to forget, the temperature inside is somewhat better than outside 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Artur permalink
    April 11, 2011 11:12

    White loss to 13 y.o. 2201 ELO Turkish player Sanal Vahap?

    Not the best start…

  2. Artur permalink
    April 22, 2011 23:21

    Have a nice time in St. Louis.

  3. June 14, 2011 09:05

    Lovin’ this Blog Hammer! Makes a refreshing change from most chess blogs… Good to also see you recently commentating on ICC, you and Yermo – top team!!! haha

    Here is my blog: http://www.mattywebbchess.com

    Matty

Leave a comment