Skip to content

Soccer mania

April 6, 2011

For some reason, almost all chess players have a close relationship to soccer (otherwise known as football, but you’ll excuse me and my bad habits, picked up by learning English in the US). The Icelanders were no exception, and during my stay in Reykjavik, I got the opportunity to join them twice – in addition to playing in the prestigious Iceland versus the rest of the World! It must have worked wonders for my chess, as I nearly got a clear first place in the tournament!


About half of the players after an intense hour of play.

More and more tournaments organize side events, including soccer matches for the participants – so for your next tournament: Remember your soccer boots/cleats! (I’d actually say boots, so I guess I’m not all-American after all!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

