Skip to content

Victory cake

March 18, 2011

Having some bad results really make you appreciate the good ones. Before the last round of Reykjavik Open, I was among the six players leading the pack. With white in the last round, I was really determined to win the last game to get at least shared 1st! As events unfolded, none of my competitors had any fighting spirit left (well, except for Sokolov maybe, but he had a terrible position – or so I’m told). That meant a win would bring me unshared first! I put heaps of pressure on my opponent, coincidentally also my team mate in the Icelandic league, but he defended very well, and in the end I had to settle for a draw. I was extremely disappointed right afterwards, as I really thought I was very close to winning. Playing on only increments for the last 10-15 moves before the time control in such an important game is tough, so with hindsight Miton deserved a draw with such tenacious defense! In the end, I got a shared first place, as well as an unshared Nordic Champion title.


Keflavik Airport at 6 am: Tired, but happy – Celebrating by enjoying a delicious carrot cake, plus a banana!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. RuralRob permalink
    March 18, 2011 20:02

    Seems to me that the Nordic Champion deserves more than just carrot cake and a banana!

    • March 19, 2011 17:37

      I can’t think of anything in the world that’s better than carrot cake and banana.

      • RuralRob permalink
        March 20, 2011 04:29

        Chocolate cake with hot fudge and vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

