Skip to content

Winter Wonderland

February 24, 2011

First – A mandatory link to the classic song🙂

I spent the last blog post promoting summer and sun. However, all (most) Norwegians are very concerned with how everything has to be fair and just. In that spirit, I want to make it clear that I love every season equally! They all have their own charm and idiosyncrasies. Minus 20 Celsius plus wind in Moscow is not much fun, as several Spaniards discovered at the Aeroflot tournament, but I assure you: minus five in Oslo can be pleasantly refreshing! Winter at its best!

All Norwegians are said to be born with skis on their feet. I actually believe that to be exaggerated, but even so – it is the reason for why Oslo is going to be a completely different place the next two weeks: We’re hosting the Skiing World Championship! Personally, I believe this to be an excellent occasion for watching some good sports on TV, admiring the favorites succeeding, and thinking to myself: I should go skiing myself. People are well intentioned, but somehow there are “doers” and “talkers”. Hopefully I’ll have recovered enough from my cold to get a ski trip before Reykjavik!


Marit Bjørgen showing off her gold medal at the prize giving in Oslo tonight. She secured Norway a fantastic start to the championship. Subways in Oslo will continue to be very crowded the next two weeks! The thousands of spectators in Holmenkollen seem to enjoy both the Norwegian winter and the Norwegian medal winners!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. RuralRob permalink
    February 26, 2011 19:37

    Sorry, but summer wins every time.

    Give me a nice beach with a reef, mask and snorkel any day!

  2. Jul permalink
    March 4, 2011 14:44

    Not in my case: I have been praying for winter before Christmas. Today we would have 29ºC max, but we had a January and half February between 30ºC -40ºC; you can imagine my lovelys travels to office…

  3. Artur permalink
    March 9, 2011 09:50

    Good luck in Reykjavík Open!

  4. RuralRob permalink
    March 14, 2011 21:00

    Hey man! What’s up with beating Hess? I was rooting for him!

    Well, congratulations anyway.
    😀

  5. RuralRob permalink
    March 15, 2011 22:44

    Dude! You’re really rocking in Rejkjavik – good luck with your round 9 game!

  6. RuralRob permalink
    March 16, 2011 18:16

    Congratulations Nordic Champion!

    • Artur permalink
      March 16, 2011 20:26

      Finally great tournament. Congrats and good luck in next tournaments.

Leave a Reply

