Skip to content

Logistics

January 7, 2011

Getting stuff done when you’re busy pressing refresh every other minute is pretty tough. I learned that the hard way, while I was anxiously waiting for my brand-new computer. My biggest concern was getting it before Tata, as the supplier only guaranteed delivery by January 25th. When I got a mail saying that UPS had received the package in Shanghai on January 3rd, I was thrilled – I would get the computer before I left for Wjik aan Zee!

Have anyone ever really thought about how logistics work? I became very fascinated by UPS’ online tracking website. There I could follow the journey of my computer. It might be naiveté, but I really thought the computer would go directly to some hub in Europe, and then catch a plane to Oslo. I couldn’t have been more wrong! It started its adventure by going east to South-Korea and the “town” of Incheon. There’s nothing like a trip in a wrong direction to make you nervous! Luckily, it went ‘back on track’ via Almaty, Kazhakstan. Its further route was Warsaw-Cologne-Malmö-Oslo! Now that’s one long trip! It really made me want to try it out for myself, but somehow I think the computer is more comfortable wrapped up in styrofoam than I would have been! In the end, all that matters is the big smile on your face as you see the UPS-truck parked outside the kitchen window.


Born in China, this 2,5 kilo+ giant is currently enjoying a majestic, elevated spot with an excellent view of Norway’s snowcapped and sunny outdoors. I bet that’s more comfortable than a UPS-package!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. RuralRob permalink
    January 7, 2011 22:13

    Dude! You got a Dell!

  2. RuralRob permalink
    January 8, 2011 00:31

    When you tweeted earlier that you are still getting used to the keyboard, I figured you must have gotten a MacBook. Mac keyboards definitely take some getting used to, if you come from the PC world.

    I have a MacBook Pro (my personal laptop) and a Dell Inspiron (my work machine), and like them both.

    By the way, who dumped all the shaving cream outside your window?

  3. Ronja_Northern permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:56

    Quite interesting, where did you order it?

  4. Henk Oosterink permalink
    February 9, 2011 19:13

    It’s Wijk aan Zee not Wjik.

Leave a Reply

