Skip to content

Perks

January 6, 2011

One of the great things about having been to most of Norway’s chess destinations, is that you know where you want to return. This weekend I’ll be playing the Open Norwegian Rapid Championship in Fredrikstad. While winning usually is a strong enough motivator, this tournament presented an excellent opportunity to enjoy one of the perks of being a chess player: Combining a chess tournament with something else. It might not be a well known fact, but the Rica Hotel in Fredrikstad has one of the most amazing breakfasts I’ve ever seen in Norway! Consequently, my main preparation for the event is gradually changing my sleeping pattern in order to get up early to breakfast Sunday morning! I just hope it lives up to my memory’s expectations!

No comments yet

Leave a comment