Skip to content

Yeehaw!

August 30, 2010

After having lost control of a very good position against world champion Anand, I was very eager to avenge all the excellent chances I had spoiled in the Arctic Securities tournament. Magnus spent a lot of time calculating Ng3+, and I decided to trust his instincts and refuse the sacrifice. There’s some irony to the fact that I lost against Anand in the very first round because I trusted his assessment in the pawn ending in which he gains the opposition with Kc6 after Kxf8. Anyhow, Magnus got short of time, and when his kingside came under severe pressure, he collapsed as he tried to exchange queens. If I didn’t exchange queens, I would lose my bishop on f4, but by playing Qc2, I counter that by giving mate on h7. Just like yesterday when Magnus blundered, I replied instantly, but this time I chose the right move!

I’ll be playing Judit Polgar for the 3rd place finish at 2pm local time today. Live games at Chessbomb, while I think the NRK’s webcam will focus on Magnus and Anand’s exciting match.

Remember to look at the puzzles! I’ll post the answers when I get back to Oslo.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Artur permalink
    August 30, 2010 19:40

    Congratulations for gaining Bronze.

  2. Tarjei permalink
    August 30, 2010 22:30

    Congrats for the Bronze!

  3. Duncan Vella permalink
    August 31, 2010 10:22

    It’s not bronze. It’s bronze with pieces of silver splashed around!!

    D

Leave a Reply

